Show Jumping Hall of Fame Honors New Inductees Jane Clark, Gabor Foltenyi, Hap Hansen and Larry Langer
April 9th, 2012

The Show Jumping Hall of Fame held its annual induction ceremony at the Gene Mische American Invitational, presented by G&C Farm, at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, FL, on Saturday, April 7, 2012.

Honored with induction were Jane Clark, Gabor Foltenyi, Hap Hansen and Larry Langer.

Induction into the Show Jumping Hall of Fame is a great honor bestowed annually upon select individuals whose contributions to the sport have set them apart and whose influence has had a significant impact on the world of show jumping. The four new inductees join the 70 previously enshrined in the Show Jumping Hall of Fame.

All four inductees have had a significant impact on the equestrian community, and their talents and efforts have now been formally recognized by their peers. It is because of their accomplishments, and what they have brought to the sport, that the Election Committee, comprising some of the nation’s top riders, trainers and officials, voted them as the inductees for the 2011 election…

Hap Hansen
With 100 Grand Prix wins to his credit, Hap Hansen stands among the elite riders in the history of his sport. In addition to his long list of Grand Prix victories that place him among the top five winners all-time, Hansen is also a veteran of twelve FEI World Cup Finals and two dozen Nations’ Cups. He also won the FEI World Cup USA West Coast League seven times and earned a dozen leading rider titles at top shows from Spruce Meadows to Harrisburg.

Hap placed in the top ten at the FEI World Cup Final twice. He was the top placing U.S. rider at the 1988 Final in Gothenburg, Sweden, when he finished sixth, the same position in which he had finished in the 1985 Final in Berlin.

He was honored as the American Grandprix Association (AGA) Rider of the Year in 1990 and he won the 1982 Rolex Crown of Excellence. His victories span three decades and nearly every continent, making him one of America’s most accomplished show jumping riders.

Hap was named the National Grand Prix League Western Conference Rider of the Year in both 1991 and 1992. The AHSA honored him with its Equestrian of the Year Award in 1994. He was awarded the California Professional Horsemen’s Association (CPHA) Lifetime Achievement Award in 1997, and has been named the Pacific Coast Rider of the Year seven times.

In addition to being a dominant force on the West Coast Grand Prix circuit, Hap has represented the U.S. internationally many times including at shows such as Hickstead, Arnhem, Aachen and Spruce Meadows. He has been the North American Champion at Spruce Meadows three times, and is a member of the Million Dollar Club, an honor limited to the few riders who have won over $1 Million in prize money at Spruce Meadows.

Hap’s success in the show jumping arena also extends beyond his personal wins. He has served as chef d’equipe for over 10 Gold Medal teams at the North American Young Riders Championships and Harrisburg Prix de States.

Twice, in 1991 and 1998, Hansen placed second in the USET National Show Jumping Championship.

Excerpt from a Classic Communications press release.

Leave a Reply